18+ | Please play responsibly | Terms and Conditions apply | Commercial Content

Women’s World Cup: United States National Team squad announced

In a star-studded social media post featuring president Joe Biden, Taylor Swift, and Megan Thee Stallion, the US Women’s National Team announce the squad that will travel to Australia and New Zealand.

April 8, 2023, Austin, TX, United States: USWNT Copyright: xBobxDaemmrichx

In an exciting development for the upcoming Women’s World Cup, eighteen-year-old Alyssa Thompson has been selected as part of the United States team that aims to defend its title in the tournament. Joining seasoned players like Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe, Thompson’s inclusion highlights her impressive performance as a rookie for Angel City in the National Women’s Soccer League.

Coach Vlatko Andonovski expressed confidence in the WNT’s capabilities, stating, “We want to do something that’s never been done before. We believe in the quality of the team and the support we have, and we think we have what it takes to make it possible.” With an opportunity to secure a historic third consecutive World Cup victory, the United States is poised to showcase their talent on the global stage.

Star-studded announcement for a star-studded squad…

The announcement of the squad was accompanied by a star-studded social media post featuring appearances from President Joe Biden, First Lady Jill Biden, Taylor Swift, Lil Wayne, and Megan Thee Stallion. Alongside Thompson, seasoned players like Alex Morgan, making her fourth World Cup appearance, and the emblematic Megan Rapinoe will return to the side.

The squad also includes experienced defender Kelley O’Hara, who will be participating in her fourth World Cup. O’Hara‘s presence will be particularly crucial in shoring up the team’s defense following the absence of veteran defender and captain Becky Sauerbrunn, who recently announced her withdrawal from the World Cup due to a lingering foot injury.

The United States finds itself in Group E for the tournament, alongside Vietnam, the Netherlands, and Portugal. Their campaign kicks off on July 22 with a match against Vietnam in Auckland, New Zealand. However, the team has faced setbacks due to injuries, with forward Mallory Swanson ruled out after tearing her patella tendon, and talented midfielder Catarina Macario unable to recover in time from an ACL injury.

➡️ Find out the rest of the 2023 Women’s World Cup fixtures here

The selection process also saw the inclusion of young talents such as Sophia Smith, named the NWSL Most Valuable Player and U.S. Soccer Player of the Year for 2022 at just 22 years old. Trinity Rodman has also been included – they are U.S. Soccer’s Young Player of the Year in 2021 and the daughter of former NBA star Dennis Rodman.

The United States Women’s National team in full

Below you’ll find the full list of the US Women’s National Team that will travel to Australia and New Zealand for the upcoming World Cup:


  • Aubrey Kingsbury (Washington Spirit)
  • Casey Murphy (North Carolina Courage)
  • Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)


  • Alana Cook (OL Reign)
  • Crystal Dunn (Portland Thorns)
  • Emily Fox (North Carolina Courage)
  • Naomi Girma (San Diego Wave)
  • Sofia Huerta (OL Reign)
  • Kelley O’Hara (Gotham FC)
  • Emily Sonnett (OL Reign)


  • Savannah DeMelo (Racing Louisville FC)
  • Julie Ertz (Angel City)
  • Lindsey Horan (Lyon)
  • Rose Lavelle (OL Reign)
  • Kristie Mewis (Gotham)
  • Ashley Sanchez (Washington Spirit)
  • Andi Sullivan (Washington Spirit)


  • Alex Morgan (San Diego Wave)
  • Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign)
  • Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit)
  • Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns)
  • Alyssa Thompson (Angel City)
  • Lynn Williams (Gotham FC)
George Boxall
28 articles
18+ | Please play responsibly | Terms and Conditions apply | Commercial Content