18+ | Please play responsibly | Terms and Conditions apply | Commercial Content

Rugby World Cup 2023 – New Zealand National Rugby Union Team

The New Zealand national rugby union team, also known as the All Blacks, is one of the world’s most successful sides, having won the Rugby World Cup on three occasions – in 1987, 2011, and 2015.

The All Blacks are a national institution in New Zealand and a source of great pride for the country. Known for their aggressive style of play and distinctive black shirts, they are a team that all rugby fans love to watch.

In this article, we look at the All Blacks’ history, upcoming matches in the 2023 Rugby World Cup, and their current squad.

World Cup Fixtures

The New Zealand national rugby union team have been drawn in Pool A for the 2023 Rugby World Cup and will face Italy, Uruguay, Namibia, and the host nation France. The winner of Pool A will face the runner-up of Pool B in the quarter finals, likely to be South Africa or Ireland.

Below is the full schedule of the All Blacks matches in Pool A, as well as where they’re taking place:

  • September 8 – New Zealand vs France (Stade de France, Saint-Denis)
  • September 15 – New Zealand vs Namibia (Stade de Toulouse, Toulouse)
  • September 29 – New Zealand vs Italy (OL Stadium, Lyon)
  • October 5 – New Zealand vs Uruguay (OL Stadium, Lyon)
Unfortunately, no events are available at this point. Please check back later.
Odds are subject to change. Last updated May 31, 2024 2:46 am.

World Cup Performance

New Zealand National Rugby Union Team History

new zealand national rugby union team

The New Zealand national rugby union Team, commonly known as the All Blacks, has a rich history in rugby union and is known as one of the sport’s pioneers.

The team were founded in 1892, making them one of the oldest national rugby teams, and their first-ever international test match came against Australia in 1903, with the All Blacks winning 22-3.

This match marked the beginning of a legacy that would shape the sport of rugby union and was also the birth of a fierce rivalry between the Wallabies and All Blacks that continues today.

So, it was fitting that New Zealand was chosen to host the inaugural Rugby World Cup in 1987, and as one of the favourites, the All Blacks dominated the tournament, defeating France 29-9 in the final at Eden Park in Auckland.

Since that victory, New Zealand have been a continued force in rugby union, but they had to wait until 2011 to lift the Rugby World Cup again. Again, it was on home soil at Eden Park as they faced France again, with the hosts edging out Les Bleus 8-7 in a nerve-jangling final.

And four years later, the New Zealand national rugby union team were the first nation to defend the William Webb Ellis trophy when they defeated their trans-Tasman rivals Australia 34-17 at Twickenham.

2023 will see the All Blacks head into the Rugby World Cup as one of the favourites again to lift the trophy. However, they face a strong France team in the tournament’s opening game, and the winner of that clash will see an easier potential route to the final.

With their three tournament wins, the New Zealand national rugby union team share the most Rugby World Cup wins with South Africa, and the All Blacks will be going all out this year to land a record-breaking fourth title.

new zealand rugby team

New Zealand Rugby Players

As a pre-cursor to the 2023 Rugby World Cup, the New Zealand National Rugby Union team will first participate in the annual Rugby Championship in July, taking on Argentina, Australia, and South Africa.

They will also take on South Africa at Twickenham in August as a warm-up match for the Rugby World Cup. Any player selected for the New Zealand National Rugby Union team must play their domestic rugby in New Zealand, with the main focus being Super Rugby Pacific.

Below is the likely All Blacks squad of professional players to compete in the Rugby Championship, which will form the basis of their World Cup squad.


Hooker – Dane Coles

Hooker – Samisoni Taukei’aho

Hooker – Codie Taylor

Tighthead prop – Ofa Tu’ungafasi

Tighthead prop Nepo Laulala

Tighthead prop Karl Tu’inukuafe

Loosehead prop – George Bower

Loosehead prop – Ethan de Groot

Loosehead prop – Fletcher Newell

Lock – Brodie Retallick

Lock – Scott Barrett

Lock – Sam Whitelock

Lock – Tupou Vaa’i

Lock – Akira Ioane

Flanker – Dalton Papalii

Flanker – Ardie Savea

Flanker – Ethan Blackadder

Flanker – Shannon Frizell

Flanker – Luke Jacobson

Number 8 – Sam Cane (c)

Number 8 – Pita Gus Sowakula

Number 8 – Hoskins Sotutu


Scrum-half – Aaron Smith

Scrum-half – Finlay Christie

Scrum-half – Folau Fakatava

Fly-half – Beauden Barrett

Fly-half – Richie Mo’unga

Centre – Rieko Ioane

Centre – Quinn Tupaea

Centre – David Havili

Centre – Braydon Ennor

Wing – Sevu Reece

Wing – Caleb Clarke

Wing – Will Jordan

Wing – Jordie Barrett

Fullback – Jordie Barrett

Fullback – Damian McKenzie

18+ | Please play responsibly | Terms and Conditions apply | Commercial Content